Congratulations 2016 World Soundtrack Awards Winners

World Soundtrack Awards Winners

Congratulations to all the winners of the 16th World Soundtrack Awards! Sándor Török (Sabam Award), Hans Helewaut (Best Original Score for a Belgian Production: ‘Cafard’), Carter Burwell & Charlie Kaufman (Best Film Composer of the Year), Joe Kraemer (Discovery of the Year
for ‘Mission: Impossible – Rogue Nation’), Jeff Beal (Best Television Composer of the Year) & of course our guest of honor: Ryuichi Sakamoto who was presented with the Lifetime Achievement Award!

The World Soundtrack Academy aims at supporting film, and now television music, sound design, composers and their worldwide promotion. In fifteen years time, the membership of the WSAcademy has grown into a group of 370 international film (music) professionals deciding on the nominees for the annual World Soundtrack Awards through several rounds of voting.

Those who can’t get enough of Ryuichi Sakamoto can purchase the collection album with his best work, performed by Brussels Philharmonic and conducted by Dirk Brossé. The recordings took place in Flagey and was crowdfunded by his fans. The album, that is for sale on the webshop of Film Fest Gent, includes tracks from ‘Merry Christmas Mr. Lawrence’ and ‘The Revenant’.

The 43rd Film Fest Gent runs from 11 to 21 October in Kinepolis Gent, Studio Skoop, Sphinx, Vooruit, KASKcinema and Capitole. You can find info and tickets on